Advisement

A student and advisor

Advice for the future

Every student in our department is assigned an advisor based on his/her option area or career choice. The advisor's primary role is to assist students in making informed academic decisions. Advisors in our department also assist in the following ways:

  • Help students decide about career paths and/or graduate school.
  • Work with students to schedule classes each semester.
  • Help students sequence their courses by developing a plan of study.
  • Discuss appropriate practicum/internship sites.
  • Keep students informed of graduation requirements.
  • Stay informed about university, college and school policies that affect advising.

For more information, please contact the following advisors:

Child Development and Youth Development

Academic Advisor: Cindy Thieman (cthieman@missouristate.edu) 417-836-3262

Career Advisor: Dr. Sabrina Brinson (sbrinson@missouristate.edu) 417-836-5070

Career Advisor: Dr. Joan Test (joantest@missouristate.edu) 417-836-8918

Career Advisor: Kim Roam (kimroam@missouristate.edu) 417-836-4151

Family Studies

Academic Advisor: Cindy Thieman (cthieman@missouristate.edu) 417-836-3262

Career Advisor: Dr. Jim Meyer (jimmeyer@missouristate.edu) 417-836-3011

Career Advisor: Jennifer Rojas-McWhinney (JRojasMcWhinney@missouristate.edu) 417-836-5365

Child Life

Academic and Career Advisors:

Cara Smith (clsmith@missouristate.edu)

Melissa Schotthofer (melissaschotthofer@missouristate.edu) 417-836-6144

Spotlight

Loading Spotlight. . .
loading