Minutes: CLSE meeting – August 29, 2014

Members attending: Reesha Adamson, Bill Agnew, Leslie Anderson, Tamara Arthaud, Megan Boyle, Amy Chenoweth, Jef Cornelius-White, Paris DePaepe, Marci Dowdy, Kim Finch, Lyle Foster, Michael Goeringer, Linda Garrison-Kane, Joe Hulgus, Mary Maloney, Jim Matthews, Nate Quinn, Linda Robbins, Michele Smith, Rebecca Smotherman, Jon Turner and Robert Watson.

Members absent: Paul Ajuwon, Gilbert Brown, Cindy MacGregor, Belinda McCarthy

Minutes prepared by Judy Campbell.

1. Faculty members discussed and agreed to have the departmental meeting from 9-11, then lunch and program meeting breakouts as needed on the following Fridays in the following areas PCOB 156 (016, 125, 127):

August 29 September 26 October 24 November 21 – Metropolitan Farmer (snow date: December 5) January 30 February 27 March 27 April 24

Departmental meeting will follow the program meetings. Meetings will be held in 016 from 11:30 until all business is taken care of.

Lunch will be a brown bag affair.

Committee Representatives for CLSE

Select P³ Representative – the following faculty were chosen to be the CLSE nominee to serve on the committee:

COU – Leslie Anderson EAD – Kim Finch SPE – Paris DePaepe If chosen one member will serve on the committee.

Faculty were asked to nominate a faculty member from each rank to be a candidate to serve on the Summer Salary Task Force: Nominees are:

Professor – Jef Cornleius-White Associate Professor – Bill Agnew Assistant Professor – Reesha Adamson Instructor – Linda Robbins Senior Instructor – Marci Dowdy Clinical Instructor – Michael Goeringer

University committee membership was reviewed with the following departmental representatives serving on the committees as indicated.

- COE Budget Committee Paris Depaepe & Leslie Anderson
- COE College Council Bill Agnew (Chari)
- COE Assessment Committee James Sottile (ADM), Linda Garrison-Kane and Belinda McCarthy
- COE Scholarship Committee Paris DePaepe
- COE Recruitment & Marketing Gilbert Brown (ADM), Michael Goeringer and Michele Smith
- COE Dean's Faculty Advisory Committee Kim Finch, Linda Garrison-Kane (through December 2014), Paul Ajuwon (effective January 2015), Gilbert Brown and Joe Hulgus.

EPPC Representative (formerly PEC) - Reesha Adamson

Graduate Council Representative - Bill Agnew

Faculty Senate Representative – Jef Cornelius-White

BSED Representative – Paul Ajuwon

- EPP Assessment Committee James Sottile (ADM) and Cindy MacGregor
- President's Council on Disabilities Paris DePaepe

2. General Updates

• By August 29 faculty were asked to send their office hours to both Judy (electronically) [and Mary if SPE/COU; and Shelley if SAE]. Office hours are to be a minimum of 5 hours a week.

In addition, faculty were asked to send electronic copies of their syllabi for their courses being taught this semester.

- Anyone needing business cards need to contact Judy and she will put through the necessary print orders requesting the cards. Faculty were asked to get with Judy regarding the format.
- All faculty were asked to update their Digital Measures.
- New Locations there were several moves this past summer and faculty have relocated as indicated below:

SPE faculty in PCOB west offices Belinda McCarthy – Hill 438 Michele Smith – Hill 300 Mary Maloney – PCOB 156 Lisa Monkres – PCOB 134

- Faculty were asked to contact Judy regarding any needs in maintenance, keys, technology or otherwise.
- Travel requests Faculty were asked to send their requests either electronically (which will be attached to one of the forms) or on the actual form itself.
 - Each faculty member is eligible to receive \$500 from the departmental travel fund if travel involves research, giving a presentation, leadership role in organization, etc. Additional funds can be requested by the faculty member from College of Education according to COE policy guidelines.

3. Discussions:

Faculty discussed P³ consideration focus which is to rate position priorities across the college. The creation of a rubric was suggested to rate each position. The following questions of how much administration data is available regarding starting salaries and has the college gone overboard to one extreme or another so we do not have the financial support to fill the positions were expressed as concerns.

4. Departmental Business:

Faculty were advised that plans are to present for faculty approval at the August meeting the proposal for the Director of Special Education Certification and at the September meeting the MS: Higher Education Administration proposal.

5. Graduate Faculty Status

New faculty who need to apply for Graduate Faculty Status need to submit their applications. Faculty who have questions may meet with their mentor or Judy for assistance in the application process. New faculty who are eligible are Nate Quinn, Megan Boyle, Amy Chenoweth, Michele Smith.

Megan Boyle, Amy Chenoweth, Jon Turner Nate Quinn, and Rebecca Smotherman will also need to complete the EPP (PEC) faculty status application.

Kim Finch will be going up for promotion and tenure. Anyone who intends to go up for promotion and tenure next year needs to let Dr. Arthaud know their intent by spring, 2015.

At this time the meeting adjourned so faculty could attend the final wrap up session.