# Minutes: CLSE meeting – February 5, 2014

**Members attending:** Reesha Adamson, Bill Agnew, Paul Ajuwon, Tamara Arthaud, Paul Blisard, Jef Cornelius-White, Paris DePaepe, Kim Finch, Lyle Foster, Michael Goeringer, Linda Garrison-Kane, Cindy MacGregor, Mary Maloney, Jim Matthews, Belinda McCarthy, Lisa Monkres, Nate Quinn, Linda Robbins, Ian Shadrick, Michelle Smith, James Sottile and Robert Watson.

**Members absent**: Leslie Anderson, Gilbert Brown, Marci Dowdy, Robin Farris, Joseph Hulgus and Kristi Perryman.

Guest: Dr. David Hough, Dean, COE

Lunch was provided by the faculty/staff in EAD.

To start the meeting Dr. Arthaud recognized Dr. Hough who presented an overview of topics and concerns that came out of the January 17 COE meeting. Dates for upcoming COE meetings have been set for August 15, October 3, 2014 and January 23, 2015. Once again these meetings will be held at the White River Conference Center. Dr. Hough encouraged all to attend the COE Graduation Reception on May 16, 2014, 10:30-12. Dr. Arthur Mallory will be the key note speaker for the event.

The minutes of the December 4, 2013 meeting were approved as distributed.

# **Faculty Scholarship Accomplishments**

**PRESENTATIONS:** (National/International)

**Adamson, R.**, & Lewis, T. J. (2013, September). "Using Opportunities to Respond Strategies for Increasing Engagement with Secondary Students." Presentation at the 10th Biennial International Conference on Children and Youth with Behavioral Disorders, Chicago, IL

#### **Old Business**

#### Information Items

# a. Faculty Search Updates

EAD – Ed.S.; Committee has met and reviewed the applications. Due to not having any applicants with school administrative experience, the search has expanded and is going through a second round.

EAD-Ed.D.; Committee is meeting Thursday, February 6 for a second time to review the applications. The first group of applicants failed to have the required school administrative experience with the search having been expanded to prepare for the second round.

SPE-ASD; Advertisement has been posted and sent out to different venues for posting. At this time several applications have been received. Committee will be meeting in the near future to review these applications.

**b. Diversity Studies Minor Update** - Dr. Arthaud presented the background for the creation of the Diversity Studies Minor and stated that the proposal is ready to move forward to COE College Council approval.

#### **Action Items -**

a. Once again faculty have been asked to review the RPT Guidelines and to approve/disapprove them as they now stand. Discussion followed regarding wording on the table of Clinical Faculty criteria. Faculty approved the change of wording under the Clinical Full Professor category regarding minimum degree from Terminal Degree to Doctoral Degree. A second change in wording in the column of Clinical Assistant Professor –Scholarly Work –delete "Minimum of one Category A publication or one national, peer-reviewed presentation in appropriate field; or one externally funded grant of \$2500 minimum" and insert Minimun of one Category A product or two Category B products or comparable scholarship. After further discussion, the document was approved with 16 yes votes and 1 no vote.

#### **New Business**

#### Information Items

a. Directions for Completing Dispositions – Students

Dr. Arthaud announced that faculty should have received a copy of the directions on how students may complete their dispositions on line.

# **Action Item**

- a. Nominee to Faculty-Student Judicial Commission (FSJC). Dr. Paul Ajuwon was voted on to serve on the FSJC as the CLSE representative.
- Nominee to CGEIP Faculty voted and chose Dr. Belinda McCarthy as the CLSE representative to serve on the CGEIP Committee.
- c. Additional elections were held with faculty being elected to serve as the CLSE representative as follows:

Representative to Faculty Senate – Jeff Cornelius-White
Representative to Graduate Council – Bill Agnew
Representative to Professional Education Committee – Paul Ajuwon
Nominee to Faculty Senate from rank of Professor – Dr. Cindy MacGregor

Nominee to Faculty Senate from rank of Assistant Professor – Dr. Reesha Adamson

Nominee to Faculty Senate from rank of Instructor – Ian Shadrick Nominee to Faculty Senate from rank of Clinical Faculty – None

#### **Discussion Items**

a. CLSE Office Design Committee - Dr. Arthaud asked that one person from each program serve on a decorating committee to decide office layout of furniture, displays, etc. (where to have small seating areas, where to have artwork & what kind, where to display student research posters, where to display map of employed graduates, etc.). Faculty members chosen to serve are:

Marci Dowdy Kim Finch Linda Garrison-Kane

- CLSE Budget Proposal Process program coordinators were asked to be thinking about and create and proposal form where ideas can be presented to programs.
   This will be discussed further at the next meeting.
- c. Administrative Assistant Support Reassignment/Realignment of responsibilities:

  Dr. Arthaud announced that, with the departure of Tamara Flores from the department, she will be meeting with Judy and Mary (upon Mary's return from surgery) to discuss the realignment of responsibilities within the department. Responsibilities in the SAE program will be shifted to the Associate Dean of Student Affairs office. SPE Offices that are located in Ellis Hall will be moving to PCOB in May.

# **Committee Reports**

- a. COE Budget Committee None
- b. Faculty Senate Senate is looking at revisions of handbook. They have also approved several graduate certificates.
- c. Graduate Council None
- d. BSED None
- e. PEC None
- f. COE Faculty Advisory Committee were to meet this morning, with the meeting being rescheduled for next Wednesday.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:50 PM.