Special Reading Teacher Certification

Our literacy program completes the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) requirements for the Special Reading Teacher Certification, K-12; however, you must already be certified in some area before you can qualify. The Missouri DESE Special Reading Teacher Certification, K-12, allows teachers to become Title I teachers, literacy coaches and other district-level positions, and will also help you to be a more effective teacher of reading in the regular classroom. The certification coursework focuses on children in grades K-12 who are struggling readers and need to learn strategies to become independent readers and learners.  Note:  We cannot confirm whether our program meets requirements for reading certification outside of the State of Missouri.  Please contact your state's Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to determine whether our program meets certification requirements.

To meet the Missouri certification requirements for special reading (Grades K-12) you must have the following:

  • A valid Missouri teacher’s certificate and two years of classroom teaching experience.
  • Professional Requirements* (these shall be met by courses of at least two semester hours, unless otherwise specified, with no grade lower than a “C”).

The following coursework should also be completed:

  1. General requirements:
    1. A valid Missouri permanent or professional certificate of license to teach; and
    2. Two (2) years of classroom teaching experience;
  2. Professional requirements*
    The following coursework should also be completed. (These shall be met by courses of at least two (2) semester hours, unless otherwise specified.):
    1. Foundations of Teaching:
      1. Child Psychology **
      2. Adolescent Psychology**
        OR a combined course to meet the above two courses
      3. Psychology and/or Education of the Exceptional Child *
      4. Evaluation of Abilities and Achievement – RDG 780
    2. Teaching Methods:
      1. Reading (at least three (3) courses required, minimum total of twelve (12) semester hours, one (1) of these courses shall be in Analysis and Correction of Reading Disabilities) – RDG 640/574
        Additional reading methods * – RDG 318, 420/421, 474, 730, or 710
      2. Language Acquisition and Development – RDG 700
      3. Behavior Management Techniques – RDG 685/585
      4. Counseling Techniques – RDG 680/580
    3. Clinical Experiences:
      1. Practicum in the Diagnosis and Remediation of Reading and Related Difficulties:
        A minimum of six (6) semester hours is required for the practicum – RDG 781 and RDG 782

*These may be met by courses taken as part of the baccalaureate degree.
**A combined course of at least three (3) semester hours in Child and Adolescent Psychology may meet these two (2) requirements.

For more information about the Special Reading Certification, contact Dr. Kayla Lewis at 417-836-4196.